Keep On Movin’

I’m reading a book right now called “Healthy at 100” and it’s opening my eyes big time. I won’t get into all the details because this isn’t a book club here, but i’ll talk a little about the emphasis it has on the importance of exercise.

healthy-at-100-book-cover-edited-2

I’m pretty active, not triathlon active, but I like to get out and move around. My usual exercise includes spin classes, hikes, dog walks/jogs, and a bit of weight/resistance training. I played soccer for a long time which was one of my absolute favorite activities, but unfortunately I injured my knee pretty badly so I’ve kind of had to “retire” on that front. I don’t work out 7 days a week, but I at least go for a brisk walk with Parker on “rest days.” When I was in my early 20’s, I did this mainly to lose weight and because I was terrified of gaining weight. And I exercised kind of excessively. It was zero fun and starting to somewhat rule my social life.

These days I exercise for a lot of reasons, none of which include an unhealthy obsession. I do it because it makes me feel mentally and physically good (thanks to a good boost in serotonin). I feel stronger, more physically capable, and relaxed. It gets me outside with Parker who is an awesome hiking/running/walking partner. There have definitely been points in my life where I was totally inactive and would be huffing and puffing after climbing a small flight of stairs. I don’t ever want to experience that again. So I get off my butt and MOVE.

I also exercise because I love to eat. Gotta burn those calories!

Ok but back to the book and what it’s teaching me and why everyone should keep on movin’, even if it’s just a little bit.

  • It increases your metabolic rate (ability to burn calories) because muscle burns more calories than fat;
  • It builds and preserves aerobic capacity (your body’s ability to process oxygen) which is hugely beneficial for the health of your entire cardiovascular system;
  • It keeps your blood pressure low;
  • It maintains healthy cholesterol levels;
  • It strengthens your bones and can actually increase bone mineral density;
  • It helps your body regulate its internal temperature; and
  • It improves your blood-sugar tolerance which can greatly reduce the risk of developing Type II diabetes. This is especially important because blood-sugar intolerance can be one of the most devastating age-related changes.

Exercise can do these things at any stage of life. Whether your 19 or 90, it’s not too late. Studies show that physical activity can absolutely reverse a lot of the changes that come with aging (like the points listed above). There are certain parts of the world that have the longest living people and one of the biggest reasons that they’re full of vitality, youth and strength well into their elder years is because they remain active at all stages of life. Unfortunately, western civilization has created this stigmatism that ageing and deterioration go hand in hand, so members of society may expect to feel this way and assume that there’s nothing they can do. It absolutely doesn’t have to be this way. Seriously, get moving! If you’re the most sedentary person on the planet, start with a walk around the block once a week. Then twice a week. And so on and so on. We don’t all need to be running 20 miles a day and lifting 3 x our body weight. But we all need to do something.

your-body

Duncan can be a bit of a couch potato but I’m gonna keep on him about this. And I will most definitely make sure that exercise is a huge part of Ryland and any future kid(s) lives. They will NOT be spending all their time glued to some sort of screen. No way, no how.

41783_114802805237966_8389_n

I hope this didn’t come across as a lecture…but maybe it was a little dose of tough love for someone out there ;). As I’ve said in a previous post, I may discuss things I’m learning about here and there, partly because I feel it’s something that someone else might be interested to here and partly as a way to reinforce it into my own brain.

Have a good one!

One thought on “Keep On Movin’

  1. Pingback: simple ways to move your butt – my little lemon tree

Leave a comment